Irish Health History

Musings

Originally posted on the VAHS blog as Healthcare, Voluntarism and the State
in Twentieth-Century Ireland and Britain
on 5 September 2011

I recently made my first visit to Dublin. Being invited to workshops is always nice, and when you get to go somewhere new that’s even better. So this was a real treat for me. It must be a treat for every historian – it’s a city just dripping with history.

Even just on the coach coming into the city, a particular building grabbed my attention. There was just something about it, I was sure I knew it. When I looked it up, the building was the General Post Office that played such a crucial role in the 1916 Easter Rising. What I hadn’t seen from across the road was the bullet holes still visible in the columns.

But the treat for me wasn’t just being in a city of…

View original post 852 more words

Leave a Reply

