Dropping Balls

April Driver

IMG_0383

Summer got away from me. August was quick. I dropped balls while a grandma and uncle visited. As I vacationed and soaked up the last few rays of summer, things quickly fell out of balance: work, faith, health. All the balls I usually manage to keep in the air, although never with much grace, dropped to the floor. And I left them there. Laundry piling up, work sitting untouched, writing projects empty of words, pounds adding on flesh, Bible unread.

I took a break to enjoy the moment and consciously let go of responsibilities. I rarely allow myself the freedom to do such things. Yet, as I grow older and hopefully more mature, I know time does not stand still. It is passing much too quickly. Before I know it the pile of tiny shoes and unkempt toys scattered round the house will disappear. Life with take my children elsewhere…

View original post 110 more words

Leave a Reply

