Running away

Let go, dance, don't hold the wall

I went to the running club today for the first time in about six months.

Now I should just say I am not a runner!  A lot of the people there are really into running; they compete in marathons.  This can be very off-putting for me as I can’t even attempt to keep up with them and get left behind with a feeling of guilt that I don’t want to hold them back.

Today I decided I wouldn’t even try to match them.  I would run at my own pace and enjoy the experience.  The coach took this into account and set me shorter distances so we all finished more or less together.

I need to honour myself and do things in the way that feels right to me, without the real or imagined pressure from others.

Doing things my way still enabled me to cover 5.5k.

And afterwards I…

View original post 22 more words

Leave a Reply

