La Pharmacie

Barefoot in Paris

BMC_2013_00174

One of the many things that surprised me the first time I stepped foot in France was the number of pharmacies all around this country. Don’t get me wrong, either – I’m still surprised at how they just seem to be everywhere. Like boulangéries, pharmacies are a constant here. There seems to be a pharmacy andboulangérie every two to three blocks!

When I was still living with an elderly French couple, I was advised to go to the pharmacy every single time the old lady heard me cough. I am not kidding, she would order me to go to the pharmacy even when I was simply clearing my throat. And she’s not the only French to have told me that either. When I was still working at a French research agency, my French supervisors would tell anyone who was coughing or just clearing their throat or sneezing…

View original post 31 more words

Leave a Reply

